Forums > Jitter

rendering colours to a 3d object in jit.gl.gridshape?

March 17, 2009 | 1:21 pm

Hi all,

Im relatively new to jitter and Im trying to render different colours to each side of a 3d cube using jit.gl.gridshape

Im using the cv.jit externals in order to make an intactile interface for musical interaction, which includes a rotating cube, but it would be nice if each of the sides were a different colour in order to tell which side is manipulating which audio sample.

Could anyone direct me to a suitable way of doing this? I have tried a few ways but the colours stay stationary while the cube rotates. Whereas, I need the colours to be locked to each face.
Please have a look at my research site at alexanderthomas.wordpress.com for an example of the patch

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Many Thanks

Jamie

http://www.alexanderjamiethomas.co.uk
alexanderthomas.wordpress.com

March 21, 2009 | 11:56 pm

Hello every one. Could anyone please help me with this, as im sure its not a complicated thing. I have a demo on monday, and im getting a bit shaky about presenting it. would be really cool if anyone could help me out.

Thanks in advance.

March 22, 2009 | 2:02 am

probably easiest to create 6 planes and position and rotate them in the shape of a cube. then you can color each face differently.

post a patch of your work in progress if you need more help.

March 22, 2009 | 3:57 am
alexanderthomas wrote on Sat, 21 March 2009 18:56
Hello every one. Could anyone please help me with this, as im sure its not a complicated thing. I have a demo on monday, and im getting a bit shaky about presenting it. would be really cool if anyone could help me out.

Thanks in advance.

yeah make six planes in the correct position and rotation, then use a jit.gl.handle to rotate/position/scale the entire scene by sending it to jit.gl.render.

March 22, 2009 | 5:59 pm

Hi guys,