Rhythmic video in Jitter

Mar 15, 2009 at 6:24am

Rhythmic video in Jitter

Hi,

I’m pretty new at Jitter, but I’ve gotten through most of the tutorials. I’m trying to trigger video so that it beats out a rhythm. I understand the looping options(0, 1, 2), but I don’t want a single loop. I would like the video to loop-loop, pause, loop, pause, loop-loop, pause, loop, or whatever. You know, not a solid, loop loop loop. (Geez. I feel like I’m trying to beat box here.)

Anyhow, all I’ve been able to do so far is vary the stuff I’ve learned on the tutorials (start the video, change the speed, edit loop points). I guess my problem would be solved if I could turn off looping and just trigger the video according to a rhythmic bang once each bang.

Also: Is there a metronome or beat button you can tap (like on VJ equipment or Live) that will record a rhythm, then loop your rhythm and send out bangs to trigger your video?

Anyway. If I figure this out, I’ll happily post and share, etc.

Thanks!

Mike

Mar 15, 2009 at 7:49am

Ok, so I figured out that I can set up a > operation so it sends out a 1 (true) when I want the video to play and a 0 (false) when I want the video to stop. I just need to figure out how to make this a little more user friendly.

But does anyone know about the finger-beat drum thing (besides the global metronome thing)?

Thanks.

Mar 15, 2009 at 5:03pm

notein or ctlin take input from midi controllers, you can map those to video controlls using scale

if you want your messages to be looped, you can use the mtr (multitrack recorder) object.

You can also send “frame 0″ message to a jit.qt.movie to get it to start at the first frame when that message is triggered, you can send it any frame number so you can have it trigger wherever in the video you want. This way you can do some really complex video editing with just the movie and mrt objects

Mar 15, 2009 at 7:10pm

Thanks!