Roland MC-303 Checksum in SXformat

Nov 11, 2013 at 1:35pm

Roland MC-303 Checksum in SXformat

Hey Guys–

Several months ago I asked you guys to help on a DX7′s sysex formatting. The help I received was incredible.

Now I’m here again, with another sysex midi implementation question. I’ve got this old Roland MC-303 whose sysex I’d love to fiddle with. After perusing the manual, it seems that there are sound parameters you can control via sysex that aren’t accessible on the interface.

The problem: I’ve never worked with checksums before.

The DX7 sysex messages were shorter (like 7 bytes or something). The sysex messages on The Roland are typically longer, including the checksum, for instance:

| F0 41 10 00 03 12 | 00 40 18 02 | 07 | 1F | F7 |
Header | Address | Data | Chksum | End

In the sxformat example in max, the example message seems to be for a DX7. The checksum on the MC-303 adds the address and data together, and subtracts it from 80(hex). How do you write a function that calculates this kind of message?

In short, I just wanna be able to fiddle with sysex parameters through max via a midi controller.

My apologies if this has been answered elsewhere; I was unable to find anything particularly specific to this question.

Thank you!

Nov 12, 2013 at 5:36am

it’s spelled out here on the 1st google hit !
(i can see you’ve maybe even been there)

http://www.synthman.com/roland/support/supplementalnotes/SUPNOTES/MC303MID.html

you should do your maths in *decimal* anyway as max converts into hex when you send it out
i just create raw midi data so i cannot comment on using sxformat
so your sysex strings go to [midiout] starting with 240[0xF0] and ending with 247[0xF7]

i’ve done the following as an investment in your sharing the ‘proceeds’ here when you’re done, hope it helps

<code>

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –

</code>

Nov 12, 2013 at 8:11am

Um, wow? Thanks, a lot!