Forums > Max For Live

Route midi to another channel?

June 30, 2011 | 4:51 pm

Hi,

I’m new to m4l.. I wonder if it is possible to route midi from a m4l device to another channel than itself? I spend hours with manuals and tutorials but couldn’t find a answer for that…

What I would want to do is play with the routing of a midi input to multiple midi outputs… i imagined to create first a very simple device to output to a midi channel selectable in a dropdown and put multiple ones in a midirack…

is that possible?

Many thx for any comment!

Luke

June 30, 2011 | 6:38 pm

i have for now a non-m4l workaround over iac… but would really like to do this in m4l for further expand..
would be mi first "learn how to do what I really need"-device…

June 30, 2011 | 7:21 pm

Hello Luke,

You can use send/receive device pairs to transport non-audio signals from one device to the other. You can even do some channel renaming to switch destinations.

June 30, 2011 | 7:42 pm

Hey thx a lot!!! Didn’t know s/r works for outside of a patch, now I have a starting point!! Gonna try this…

July 1, 2011 | 10:55 am

As you’ll see in the very previous topic to this, there is latency involved that you need to be aware ofin send and receive which maybe an issue for performance data .

July 2, 2011 | 3:37 am

i have for now a non-m4l workaround over iac… but would really like to do this in m4l for further expand..
would be mi first "learn how to do what I really need"-device…

[url=http://www.2011shopping.info/outlook-2010-full-guidance]outlook 2010 full guidance[/url]
[url=http://www.fashionsport.net/three-tips-for-managing-calendars-in-outlook-2010]three tips for managing calendars in outlook 2010[/url]
[url=http://www.storeuk.us/outlook-2010-version]outlook 2010[/url]

July 29, 2011 | 2:13 am