Sample and loop

Mar 22, 2012 at 7:13pm

Sample and loop

While working on something, I needed a way to capture a sample and then loop it, but have the loop length dependent on the length of the recording. I whipped up a solution in Gen~ and thought it might be useful for someone else.

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –
Mar 22, 2012 at 7:57pm

Fantastic bit of code. I just added functionality for length of loop and a reverse button.

Mar 22, 2012 at 11:15pm

Also wouldn’t be hard to add in a rate control (just multiply the sample playback increment before %). fun stuff

Mar 22, 2012 at 11:52pm

Like this?

I seem to get either silence or white noise when speed isn’t 1.

Mar 23, 2012 at 2:02am

It looks very interesting but (I’m a total noob with gen) what is the advantage of doing it in gen~ rather than with the classic groove~ object ?

I’m currently building something for doing, more or less, the same thing and I didn’t think of using gen~

Thanks for any light.

Mar 23, 2012 at 5:58pm

Close, but the * should go before the + actually. You are multiplying the increment amount to change speed. With the speed control, I also switched to a higher-quality interpolation mode so I can buttery smooth slow-downs. Try this:

@Spip The advantage – for me at least – is the ability to have a fairly fine-grained control over how it works, and be able to expand and alter that at will. The groove~ object is a little bit of a black box that just works. Also, with my version, the phase of the loop is in sync with the recording. I could also expand this to do overdubbing with just a few more parts. Also, the @interp options in the Gen~ objects sound really good.

Mar 23, 2012 at 6:46pm

Ah I see where I was going wrong. Sounds great!

I just added a sync output like groove~ and an output for length of sample.

I’m trying to change the start point of the sample though without too much luck.

(it’s getting messy!)

Mar 23, 2012 at 7:12pm