Forums > MaxMSP

Send infos to different instances of a poly~

September 11, 2009 | 1:25 am

Hi,

A friend of mine advised me to deal with poly~ rather than a set of bpatchers to more CPU efficient but I’m new with this object so sorry for my newbie questions.

1 Is there a way to send infos (bang, ints) to individual instances of a poly~ using the objects send and receive, and not using real "in"s and the "target" message ?
In other words is there a way to have a kind of argument #1 for each instance of poly~ ?

2 Is it possible to use a groove~ inside a poly~ where each groove~ of an instance read a different buffer~ (outside of the poly~) ?

thanks a lot for your help

Florent

September 11, 2009 | 5:30 am

In short…yes Smile

Quote:
Is there a way to send infos (bang, ints) to individual instances of a poly~ using the objects send and receive, and not using real "in"s and the "target" message ?
In other words is there a way to have a kind of argument #1 for each instance of poly~ ?

within each instance, a bang to "thispoly~" generates its instance number. You can then use this number to generate specific receives within an instance. For example, say loadbang>>thispoly~ produced "4" (instance 4). Feed that number into "sprintf set %i_param" connected to a "receive" object with no argument. The sprintf will create the message "set 4_param", which in turn sets the argument for the receive object essentially creating a "receive 4_param". If you wish to create unique sends within an instance, look into the "forward" object. Same procedure also works for audio send~/receive~ objects.

Quote:
Is it possible to use a groove~ inside a poly~ where each groove~ of an instance read a different buffer~ (outside of the poly~) ?

yes again. again using bang >> thispoly~ you can change the name of the buffer the groove~ object is using. Check out the help file for more info.

David

September 11, 2009 | 12:20 pm

Thanks a lot David for your answer !