Forums > Dev

Sending raw network messages

August 14, 2013 | 10:15 am

I need Max to talk with a service running on another machine. It speaks a proprietary protocol over both UDP and TCP. I have a library that constructs the packet payloads. They are stored in buffers of unsigned bytes; the message length varies from message to message but is always known.

My initial goal is to write a simple external (in C) that, upon receiving a bang on its sole inlet, will output the raw message data on its outlet packaged such that it can be sent via mxj net.udp.send.

So, I’m pretty new to Max and writing externals–I’ve written a couple very simple ones–and I’m not sure how I should be packaging my data for output from this external. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Examples even more so.

August 14, 2013 | 12:07 pm

Hi,

it is slightly unclear to me whether you need help with sending the messages over the network, or with packaging your data according to the proprietary protocol. For the first case, I would recommend my set of raw networking objects within The sadam Library (http://www.sadam.hu/software), which were exactly designed for these kind of things. For the second case, it would be hard to advise on how to pack your data without knowing more about the actual protocol…

HTH,
Ádám

August 14, 2013 | 12:40 pm

Adam,

Thanks, Adam. Sorry I wasn’t clear. I don’t need help packaging the data according to the protocol. I have a library that does that nicely. The relevant function in that library returns a structure containing a pointer to the data and the length in bytes of the data buffer. What I’m struggling with is how to send that data via my external’s outlet to be consumed by mxj net.udp.send.

I’ve seen your networking objects and considered using them. Other than the fact that they are not java, are they offering an advantage over the mxj net.* objects?