Seriously, it's time for autosave…

Aug 18, 2012 at 10:07pm

Seriously, it's time for autosave…

Good grief, Cycling ’74. We’ve been asking for years, and I can’t be the only one who’s indescribably tired of crashes. For God’s sake, implement autosave. _This_ is a feature for which I won’t actually complain about paying such steep upgrade prices.

Aug 18, 2012 at 10:15pm

I’ve been working with Max for Live for almost 3 years now, Max stand alone for almost 2.5 and to be honest I never missed this option. In fact; I’m not too sure I’d applaud the addition of it. Because it would mean the environment itself needs more resources, first to keep track of time and at specific intervals to start doing something which, depending on your patch, could very well get even heavier on the resources.

When working with specific audio experiments I don’t want any chance of interference by something as trivial as this.

Besides; what’s the big deal in remembering to hit control-s before you test something which could potentially crash?

Aug 18, 2012 at 10:54pm

We’re talking about a routine firing on the order of minutes to hours, and saving a text file on the order of a few to several hundred kilobytes. The resources required to do this are trivial–_nowhere near_ the resources required to create ‘interference’.

The big deal in remembering is two-fold. On the one hand, one sometimes simply forgets to do so–the entire reason for autosave. On the other hand, _anything_ can potentially crash. I’ve found, after many years of working with Max, that it’s rarely the case that something I think could potentially cause a crash is what does so–often just the opposite.

Aug 18, 2012 at 11:38pm

Ever tried something like this?

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –
Aug 19, 2012 at 2:37am