Forums > Misc

[sharing] an OSC server plugin to control your Max patches from a classic DAW

February 17, 2013 | 1:51 pm

Hello,
I wrote a small VST plugin that allows you to send OSC messages directly from your DAW.
You setup the destination, select the min/max/steps values directly in the VST GUI and the value of the message is sent accordingly (scaling the automation curve in your DAW).
If someone is interested in testing it you can download the VST (windows) on this webpage : http://peter1island.com/technicalStuff/audio-plugin/vst2osc-rtas2osc.php
Unfortunately I don’t own a mac so I haven’t been able to provide an AU or mac VST version, if someone is interested in I’ll upload soon a new version of the sources
The project is very young and I’m a composer, not a C++ coder, so every feedback is very welcome.
All the best,
Matthieu / Err0r_500

February 20, 2013 | 2:46 pm

Hey Matthieu,

Great job there. I haven’t tested your VST yet (but rest assured, I’ll do that soon), but as for the Mac version, you might consider using Juce. Juce is a "cross-platform" framework for C++, that allows you to use the same code to compile applications for Windows, Mac and Linux. It is something like "Java for C++", if you know what I mean. I am not an experienced C++ programmer either, but I believe that Juce good help you with the "cross-platform" issue (which I believe is something that really bothers a lot of Max users and developers).

Keep up the great job, and I’ll give you some feedback as soon as I have some.

All the best,

February 20, 2013 | 5:18 pm

Hey,
Thanks a lot! Actually, I do use Juce for my plugin but I was assuming I’d need a Mac box anyway to be able to compile the plugin for mac… I’ll check that! Thanks again
Matthieu

February 21, 2013 | 1:33 am

btw, Max is programmed in Juce :) (afaik)

February 21, 2013 | 1:54 pm

I compiled it for mac: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/33721778/vst2osc.vst.zip