Forums > MaxMSP

simple(?) groove~ question(s)

DFM
March 17, 2009 | 8:50 pm

EDIT:
-i made a few little changes to the patch… same question though…

hello wonderful and helpful board!

i am quite the beginner, so i am very grateful for the support of this amazing resource! i’m pretty sure that my question is a little silly, but i could not find the answer anywhere (though if anyone else knows of a thread that i missed, please fill me in).

basically i am trying to overcome the clicking that my groove~ objects always seem to make (i AM a huge noob). i have been able to do so with specific files (of fixed duration), but i am trying to get the same results from a groove where the contents (and more importantly, length) of the buffer change.

basically, my question is as follows:

is there any way to know when a groove~ is a given amount of time, let’s say 50ms, away from the end of any number of different samples (of varying lengths)?

as seen below, i have tried to get this information (approximately) from the farthest right outlet of the groove~, but this approach seems inflexible and just plain wrong.

also, with a very short and loud sample, i was still getting a bit of a click at the end of some (but not all) playbacks. is there anything obvious in my patch that would yield this kind of "occasional" click?

thank you all so much in advance,
your help is greatly appreciated,
DFM

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –

March 17, 2009 | 9:12 pm

Perhaps have a look at [grooveduck] and [grooveduck2] which are abstraction wrappers for the [groove~] object included with the standard distribution of max. They fade the signal in and out at the specified loop points.

lh

DFM
March 17, 2009 | 9:28 pm

thank you!

if i give it a very big number for loop end,
it seems to take the whole file (whatever the length) automatically,
which is what i was after.
i will add that in right away.

on a related note,
i tidied up the patch a little,
but i still get a click if: