some basic problems with the API

Sep 10, 2012 at 4:17pm

some basic problems with the API

hey,

this is my first attempt to get access to a couple of ableton live functions via the API. i tried a couple of things and had a look in the help file + tutorials but i can´t get any further without some help. i don´t see what i´m doing wrong. may is just because of that i spend the whole day in front of my mac running ableton+m4l. :)

anyway, i have got 4 really small but different patches. two of them (set global tempo + your live version) are working pretty fine but the other once are not working. i would like to control the global tempo from a max patch but i cant´t find the right solution. also i try to trigger a clip from a patch but it´s not working as well. would be nice if someone could push me in the right direction.

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –

thx

seb

edit//

knows anyone a good tutorial for this whole “api thing”? i can´t find that much in the help file so it would be nice if there is something like that.

Sep 10, 2012 at 5:11pm

not in front of live now but I think that in the right part of the patch, the problem comes from the message box and on the left, you should replace the int box with a float…

As for the ressource, this page by Shelluser is invaluable : http://synthfan.info/tutorials/lom-navigator/

Sep 10, 2012 at 5:13pm

Also, don’t forget to click on the property value message box in the left part. You could also add a [t b b] under the int box used to select the track number.

Sep 10, 2012 at 6:01pm

thx mate, the trigger part is working like a charm now but i can´t observe and control the volume. i clicked on all message boxes just to make sure that its not my fault. and yes unfortunately the synthfan.info page is down so i could use the lom navigator. i found it a couple of weeks ago in a post on this forum and though about that it could be a good tool for learning as well.

do you have any idea about the “tempo control thing”?