Splitting Keyboard and timbres

Feb 23, 2009 at 9:45pm

Splitting Keyboard and timbres

Hey all,

I have a broad question, from a beginner to MAX. I’m trying to create a project where the computer keyboard generates chords, but they keyboard is separated into different timbre areas. (In other words, pressing “R” would create a different timbre than pressing “M.”) Then, I would like these individual timbral areas to be separated, so that some keys generate minor chords, and others generate major chords.

Again, I’m a beginner to MAX, so I apologize if this is a basic question. Any help and direction would be appreciated, though.

-Mark

Feb 23, 2009 at 11:50pm

Well, step 1 would be to create the synths that you want to play. The tutorials can help you there.
After that, you’d have to manually assign keys on your keyboard to each chord you want to play, so it’s entirely up to you to decide what goes where.

Feb 23, 2009 at 11:56pm

mww5x wrote on Mon, 23 February 2009 15:45Hey all,

I have a broad question, from a beginner to MAX. I’m trying to create a project where the computer keyboard generates chords, but they keyboard is separated into different timbre areas. (In other words, pressing “R” would create a different timbre than pressing “M.”) Then, I would like these individual timbral areas to be separated, so that some keys generate minor chords, and others generate major chords.

Again, I’m a beginner to MAX, so I apologize if this is a basic question. Any help and direction would be appreciated, though.

-Mark

Lots of ways to do this. If you know particular chords you want you can use message boxes, this is the simplest but least flexible (as-is). You can use number boxes which are changeable in real-time (locked patches), and can have presets. You can use a [coll] for a big list of chord types which you reference by an index. And you and easily transpose any chord through addition or subtraction. There are lots of other ways too.