Forums > MaxMSP

Stupid Question…

September 28, 2006 | 7:22 pm

How do I edit presets? I’m just starting out, but when I save my preset and then reopen it all the editing functions are gone. I swear to god I’ve read though all the manuals more than once and just can’t find it mentioned :-D

Tony

September 28, 2006 | 9:38 pm

The best way to save parameter data in max is with the pattr family of objects.

wes

On 9/28/06, Antony Bernardo wrote:
>
> How do I edit presets? I’m just starting out, but when I save my preset and then reopen it all the editing functions are gone. I swear to god I’ve read though all the manuals more than once and just can’t find it mentioned :-D
>
> Tony
>

September 28, 2006 | 9:47 pm

Ah, sorry I have phrased my question wrong.

What I mean is; when I create a patch in MAX/MSP and save it (e.g mylooper.pat), when I then go to load up my .pat again I can only view it it – not edit it.

September 28, 2006 | 9:57 pm

on a mac, the little pill at the top right of the window
short cut command e
menu bar/ view/ edit

check documentation

welcome to max!
-matt

September 29, 2006 | 12:44 am

you might also be opening the Runtime by accident, and not the full
Max/MSP environment. the icons are the same.

v a d e //

http://www.vade.info
abstrakt.vade.info

On Sep 28, 2006, at 5:57 PM, matthew aidekman wrote:

> on a mac, the little pill at the top right of the window
> short cut command e
> menu bar/ view/ edit
>
> check documentation
>
> welcome to max!
> -matt

September 29, 2006 | 11:02 am

Ah, thanks guys – Ctrl+E does it on XP.

I’m sorry I need to clutter the forum with these obvious question but with the guide being 100+ pages I must gloss over some stuff.

No I can begin dissecting the pre-sets :-)

Tony

October 28, 2006 | 1:09 am