Very Basic Audio Sequencer

Mar 6, 2007 at 3:24pm

Very Basic Audio Sequencer

Hi, I am quite new to max and have searched and found some topics on sequencers but they are all too complex ideas for what I need personally.

Basically I would like to create a simple sequencer similar to the ‘music creation’ program called dance/hip-hop ejay. But I have recorded real instruments such as drums, bass, guitar etc.

The user will have a set track for each instrument – probably around 5 or 6 tracks.
Each track will be divided into bars, where the user will be able to select from a list of samples for that particular bar. then once the choice of samples is complete, all tacks hould play back as a full song.

All samples are same tempo / key, and each sample will be cut to the exact same length. All that is needed is for the sampels to play back in time.

I had thought of using coll to store the samples for each instruments, then using a pop-up list to represent each bar.

If this is possible then other features such as volume/ solo/ mute options will be added.

So, any ideas?

p.s thanks for reading this if you did!

Mar 7, 2007 at 3:04am

Sounds like a great project for Max. I particularly like the simplicity of it—often our ideas get very very complex in Max, which can be great fun, but also confusing. The fact that your samples are the same length, tempo, and pitch make things easy.

A drop-down for your sample names is great. If there are spaces in the filename I believe you need to use quotes around the name when you send the buffer~ or sfplay~ your “read” message. (drop-down –> prepend read –> buffer~ name_of_track). You’d have a separate buffer~ and groove~ object for each track. You can change the loop points and speed and such too, but for this it doesn’t sound like you will want to.