Forums > Max For Live

VJing with Ableton and Jitter

July 16, 2012 | 1:51 pm

i would like to do a hybrid dj/vj set. i have thought of a few scenarios and i also have a question.

which would be the most reliable system?

1. entirely in max6
i would create two "decks" that play video and sound, including a mixer to crossfade between the two. the challenge here is there is a huge amount of work to assemble everything since i’m still a more novice user.

2. ableton live to play audio, sending midi/osc signals over to max6 to trigger video.
in this scenario i am taking advantage of all the assembled audio components of ableton. the only problem is i dont understand how a slowed down music track would also slow down the video in max.

3. max4live for the whole set.
i have my qualms about the stability of maxforlive and jitter. feel free to tell me that it’s no more risky than option #2.

now my question is pertaining to option #2. how do you send a message from ableton to max6 to trigger a bang for a video?

any tutorials or patches are much appreciated

pid
July 16, 2012 | 4:54 pm

the best is option 1, but i am biased.

for you it sounds like you should use option 3.

this guy has done all the work for you already:

http://fabriziopoce.com/max.html

July 22, 2012 | 11:05 pm

I do your option 2. Works great.

http://www.synnack.com/blog/post/25/0xf8-phase-2

You could easily use the API in Max for Live to send commands to the jit.qt.movie object in the max instance to slow the video when the audio slows.

July 23, 2012 | 12:30 am

IMO It depends on your hardware and setup and my pick would be 1 as well, though I’m a die hard Live user.