Forums > Jitter

Volume Control – Rock Band Drum Kit

June 10, 2009 | 2:32 am

Hey guys,

I’m relatively new to Max/MSP/Jitter, so I need a bit of help here Smile

I’ve whipped up a patch which uses my Rock Band drumkit to crossfade between a video of someone playing on normal drums and someone playing on Rock Band drums.
My problem is I want to be able to use the pads to cycle through the volume, either using two to go up and down or just one to cycle up until it resets back to no volume. If you get what I mean.

I would like the volume control to be quite smooth, so not really jumping from 1 volume to 10 volume.

Cheers if anyone helps Smile

June 10, 2009 | 11:00 am

hi..

to smooth volumen change you can use line object.. take a look to the help. basically you send a message to a line saying where to start the ramp, where to end and how long it takes in miliseconds.

if you send message (0., 1. 5000) to a [line 0.] object you get get a ramp from 0. to 1. in five seconds

about the pads cycle i dont end of undertsnad what you mean, but you have a [cycle] object that cycle the input to diferent outputs.. it works for bangs, ints etc..

good luck!
o

June 10, 2009 | 4:53 pm

yes, I’d use line so you can smooth out the values and have control over how long it takes to go from one to the next. You have bangs coming in from all the pads, so choose the two you want and send them into [incdec], one tells it to inc, the other says to dec (with inc/dec messages). put this number into a number box. Set the number box that’s holding the output of [incdec] to have a min and max range, like 0 to 10. This range is how "fine" your volume steps will be. Then use [scale] to go from this range to a range from 0. to 1. this will also convert to float, which you need for resolution with [line].