Where do i find..

Jul 14, 2008 at 1:22am

Where do i find..

hey all, im new to max and have been making my way through the tutorials which btw are fantastic, currently about half way through the max tutorials. but im looking for a good drum sequencer which i can have a good play around with. most things ive found in the resource guide have been programmed for apple macs, but im on windows.

thanks in advance

Jul 14, 2008 at 6:29pm

I would suggest something like this for a readily-available example of drum sequencing within the distribution of Max5 itself:
Max5/examples/legacy-examples/modsquad-history/modsquad-seq.maxpat

If you’re using Max4.6 it would probably be located here instead:
Max4.6/examples/sequencing-looping/modsquad

If you do have Max5, you could look at this Jitter way of doing things:
Max5/examples/jitter-examples/audio/jit.sampler-exampler.maxpat

to use that jitter example without jitter you could simply take the “infinite-step-sequencer” portion of the patch and apply it to the groove~ object.

If you don’t have Max5 and feel ModSquad is not right for you, I’d start with the groove~ object no matter what(you could also look at sfplay~ and play~) and just figure out how to save start/end-points of loops into a preset object or system of pattr objects and then sequence those presets timed to a transport object(or in max4.6 simply using some kind of clock like metro or even phasor~ if you want signal-rate-accuracy).

Jul 15, 2008 at 2:11am

here’ some examples from an old thread of how you might want to design a drum sequencer:

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –

If you look for Chris Muir, his website has two clear and simple methods of creating a drum sequencer (one as a pulse sequencer, one as a step sequencer).