Forums > Dev

where to go from here? externals… yes this again.

January 27, 2012 | 12:45 pm

hello all,

well after some proper thinking i have come back to learning the building of externals, and successfully ran through an informative guide on expanding the simplemax source, by adding an extra inlet and an output.
[ive attached the paper i used to help me]

although it was slightly off on some things or its explanation was slightly misty i made it through fine.
but was wondering if there is anything else much like this paper that helps in explaining things in a tutorial sense.
i know the sdk comes with info a work-throughs, and will be getting on it. plus know than mr eric lyon is writing [or proofreading] a book which is a tutorial from start to finish of building externals, from beginner to advanced [which i am so happy for, but also impatient to wait :)]

but the brief walkthrough i have done is great and simple.
but none-the-less i am not a programmer first, and am very "whaaa…" with most of the jargon taking up my screen.
and was wondering if there was anything else that can explain things in a tutorial sense. videos [though i seen none] or even an updated version of this.
http://cycling74.com/2005/10/05/writing-externals-with-xcode-22/
or even other papers that explain the language etc.

anyhow, i will lick my external question wounds and move on

lewis edwards
——
smokingbunny.co.uk

January 27, 2012 | 3:46 pm

thats cool and thanks for the word of wisdom.
i mean even the whole "which environment to use in xcode?" is not really explained anywhere for building externals, if you want to start from scratch with a new project. still having a tough time finding it to be honest

do have some books/pdfs that friends have lent/given me
• The C Programming Language – 2nd edition
• Objective C Visual QuickStart Guide
• Practical C Programming – 3rd Edition
and the max 5.1.7 api pdf