Why won't sfplay~ stop?

Aug 31, 2011 at 1:25pm

Why won't sfplay~ stop?

Hello,

I’m sorry if it’s an obvious problem – I am new to wonder that is Max.

Basically, I have set up a sampler which counts through the samples. It is made very slightly more complicated by the fact I am using 10 channels and different samples go to different outputs, but never more than one at a time.

I have set up the patch to count on to the next sample once the last has finished. However, I can’t get it to stop!

I am sending a [0] to all the sfplay~ objects, and the counter at the same time but it doesn’t stop playing – it just loops to the next sample.

Any help would be very much appreciated!
Thanks

Aug 31, 2011 at 4:15pm

It would certainly help to see your patch, or even the relevant section of it. From your description, it may be a [counter] issue, not being reset correctly or at the correct time perhaps; are you familiar with the [trigger] object?

Brendan

Aug 31, 2011 at 6:07pm

Hopefully this will mean you can see my patch. This is actually a sub patch and I am sending a bang to [r stopmsg] from the main patch if that’s important.

Thank you!
Hannah

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –
Aug 31, 2011 at 8:39pm

You can see the problem if you connect a [print] object to the number box just below the counter. The counter is sending an integer > 0.

Aug 31, 2011 at 8:48pm

To be a bit clearer here, your 0 is never getting to the sfplay~ objects.

Aug 31, 2011 at 9:34pm

Thanks newdendrite. I see what you mean. Do you happen to know how I can get a 0 into the counter and stop in continuing to count round in the loop?

Sending 0 to the fourth input on the counter seems to send a 0, but that just sets off the loop and the counter starts counting again.

I just seem to be stuck in a perpetual loop and would really appreciate any pointers.

I haven’t used the [trigger] object that Brendan suggests so I’m afraid I don’t quite know how best to try and use it.

Many thanks
Hannah