If you have made new default settings, they won't be overwritten by the installer. If you have changed the existing ones (such as cobalt.maxdefaults), they'll get overwritten. My suggestion is never to change the existing ones, even if you hate them. And how could anyone really hate them?
maxinterface.json will be overwritten too. Otherwise user settings are in the preferences folder and are not touched by the installer.