I worked for a long time on something, and saved it. But I may have saved it from one of its subpatches. The reason I suspect that’s what I did is that now, when I open the saved document, I am brought immediately to a subpatch rather than the main one.
Did I lose all my work, or is there a way to get from the subpatch to the main one? Option-clicking on the title bar is not bringing up a menu, and that’s the only way I know to get to a parent window.
In max 5, if a subpatch is in the foreground, hitting a shortcut for save will save everything. In 4 this action will bring up a dialogue (to save the subpatch separately). If you have saved the subpatch through a saveas command from the menu and have lost the main, you must at least once have chosen not to save when closing the main patch. If the main patch is off screen, you should be able to see it in the windows menu. Double clicking an inlet opens the patcher that contains the subpatch from where you clicked. Hope this all helps.