Forums > Misc

soundflower glitches…?

January 8, 2014 | 6:14 am

Hi there,
here is my setup.

I’m using only mono separated channel to soundflower except for Master output.

I have maximum 16 channels.

Everything seems to work fine with 1024 samples of buffer size for Live, Soundflower, but … sometimes (rarely), it glitches a bit.
Even if my music is very glitchy, I want to fix it.

Any ideas for me ?

best,

Attachments:
  1. schema

January 9, 2014 | 12:37 pm

As a sound designer, I have had a lot of problems of glitchy-ness with SoundFlower. It sacrifices the audio if the cpu gets overworked (especially if you have a lot of plugins running in Live). I have found the best results are achieved if you are using a external sound interface, like a Motu UltraLite, Digi Mbox, or Presonus Firebox. Using an interface saves you from having to process 16 channels of audio live on your cpu. The difference you will notice, though, is that when you assign an output on the interface it usually can’t be simultaneously an output in one program and an input in another the way SoundFlower can. In order to get the outputs back into the inputs, you might have to physically patch cables from outs to ins.

Hardware sound interfaces will usually be of much better output quality anyway, and they don’t suffer as much from noise generated by your computer.

Cheers!

dtr
January 9, 2014 | 3:12 pm

I’m sure Julien is already using an external audio interface for his I/O. Though adding 16 I/O’s for ‘internal’ routing to the 2/4/8/16 that he might already be using is gonna make it a pretty huge interface.

Btw, doesn’t RME allow for internal bus routings without physical patching?

I have only one real project experience with soundflower and it was a bad one. Though I can’t say for sure that soundflower was the culprit. I’ve been digging in a heap of audio glitch weirdness on my system recently.

January 9, 2014 | 3:35 pm

actually, all is software, currently.