If your device has no new changes to be saved when you close it in the editor, it does not need to be reloaded because it already has been loaded the last time you saved. But you do get the notification that you are changing preview mode.
My patch depends on send/receive pairs that are bound to a name derived from a liveapi query on loadbang,
Sometimes after editing these connections are lost, and I need to manually bang the init sequence to get them communicating again. It doesn’t happen often so I can’t quite put my finger on it. I hope I can reproduce it in some way. It might be related to the liveapi/query and not so much the loadbang then.